S.c. moped Laws
By NOELLE PHILLIPS — firstname.lastname@example.org
Jonathan Crouch understands why other motorists might get frustrated when they travel behind his moped.
But the 29-year-old mechanic wishes they would be more patient for those who choose an affordable mode of transportation.
People dont really look out for mopeds, Crouch said. They disregard them altogether. They only go 25 miles per hour and that slows traffic, which leads to road rage.
In the past five years, the number of moped riders in South Carolina has more than doubled as people look for cheaper ways to get around town. But that increase in popularity has come with some confusion and some costs.
Because mopeds are exempt from state driving-under-the-influence laws, police are confused about how traffic laws apply to them.
Is it a moving vehicle or not? said Col. Michael Oliver, commander of the S.C. Highway Patrol. Thats an issue we have today.
And, as more people ride mopeds, the rising number of fatalities involving them has alarmed highway safety officials.
All of this has led the S.C. Highway Patrol and state lawmakers to search for ways to make travel safer for the thousands of people who ride the motorbikes.
While mopeds share the road with cars, trucks and motorcycles, they do not have to abide by the same regulations. Moped drivers do not register their vehicles, they are not required to carry vehicle insurance and when they are drunk, they cannot be charged with driving under the influence.
Anyone with a South Carolina drivers license is eligible to drive a moped. Also, moped drivers ages 14 and older without a drivers license can apply for a $25 moped license that is awarded after they pass a 25-question test. And a person who has had a regular drivers license suspended after a first driving-under-the-influence conviction can obtain a moped license.
While the number of moped licenses issued by the S.C. Department of Motor Vehicles does not accurately reflect the number of the motorbikes on the roads, it does show their growing popularity.
In the past five years, the number of moped licenses issued has more than doubled, to 8, 603, according to data provided by the DMV.
Time for more regulations?
The rising number of mopeds on the roads has brought more fatalities for moped drivers.
In one year, S.C. moped fatalities jumped 54 percent, to 37 in 2012 from 24 in 2011, said Phil Riley, director of the state Office of Highway Safety and Justice Programs.
That number stood out like a sore thumb, Riley said. The data drives our efforts.
The highway safety office this spring will launch a $200, 000 marketing campaign aimed at moped riders. Troopers will begin stopping moped riders to talk to them about visibility and to make suggestions on how to protect themselves, he said.
You might also like:
Scooter law2010-10-04 22:11:03 by zax_penguin
Ow to apply for a motorcycle or moped driver license if you are over 18
There are two classes of motorcycle licenses, Class M1 and Class M2.
With a Class M1, you can operate any 2-wheel motorcycle and any motorized vehicle in Class M2.
With a Class M2, you can only operate any motorized bicycle or moped or any bicycle with an attached motor.
Effective January 1, 2006, you may operate a motorized scooter with a Class M1 or M2 driver license. Prior to January 1, 2006, you must have a Class C or higher driver license to operate a motorized scooter
Live Wire: No license plates required for mopeds — Fayetteville Observer
Note: This definition applies to many machines that are described by their manufacturers as scooters or mopeds. Whether the machine is a moped or a motorcycle, its operator must obey all traffic laws.